Grow Lab: SCOBY Paintings & Bacteria Drawings

I began this project looking at bacterial grown inks to create fully biodegradable paintings with SCOBY. However, I never finished this, this is one of the projects I chose to stop. I might come back to it but I realised I was more exploring, experimenting and learning but it wasn’t leading to something directly like honey was. I think this is just a matter of time

Bacteriascape

My first living drawings on petridishes were really interesting so I tried it on a larger A4 scale however then the J Liv bacteria didnt all colour – creating this difference.

I really want to do more of these drawings and develop these painting techniques but I haven’t had time. I think this will be a future development.

Drawings under the microscope

Bacteria microlandscapes within drawn landscapes

Home Microscope

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started